Instant Eye Dropper for Mac

digitalcolor-meter

The Problem: I am in the beginning stages of developing my own website.  As I gather potential icons from the creative commons, I wanted to know which icon colors would go well with which webpage backgrounds.  I went to the icon developer’s website to see what colors they were using and needed to go through this long ordeal using Photoshop to figure out the hexadecimal number for each color.  “There’s got to be an easier way!”

The Journey of Discovery: I did a quick web search and found  a great app for Windows called Instant Eyedropper, which identifies a hex color when you hover your mouse over any colour on screen.  The only downside is that the app is only available for PC.  So, I performed another Google search (including the word Mac this  time) searching for something similar.  Lo and behold!  An identical app comes ready installed on your Mac. Who knew?

The Solution: DigitalColor Meter.app comes with Mac and you’ll find it in this folder /Applications/Utilities/

About bryantanner

I'm obsessed with learning via the appropriate technology. My professional mission is to effectively deliver instruction to learners in a way that yields the greatest results for all stakeholders involved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Instant Eye Dropper for Mac

  1. aalaap says:

    Well, I’ll be damned!

Leave a Reply

